Casserole Party

So what started out as a pretty mundane day yesterday (talked to Shun and cleaned) turned into a bit of stressful afternoon, but ended well.  It started getting stressful when I went to Kroger.  I left my cell phone at home, but I figured it wouldn’t be that big of a deal since I was just going to be gone for 40 minutes.  There wasn’t anything special about the shopping trip, other than I look like a T.A. apparently.  Heh heh.  After I get home (about 4:30) I start making my casserole.  The first was asparagus casserole (my great grandmother’s recipe) and the second was a broccoli and cheese casserole (from allrecipes with some changes by me).  I might post the recipes later if you are interested.  The broccoli casserole turned out great, almost all of it got eaten, and it was a big casserole.  The asparagus casserole was okay, I think I’m going to play with it until I get it the way I want it.  It was a little bit too runny for my taste.  Maybe less water next time.  I don’t know.  I also made some cole slaw, which I thought was good (note: it wasn’t mayonnaise based though so it was also different).

Other casseroles present were the standard green bean, sweet potato, tuna, and breakfast.  Oh, and we had peach cobbler for dessert.  All of the food was good, and I think the study abroad students enjoyed it (they’d never had casserole before which is why we threw the party).  We sat around and chatted awhile after that, but unfortunately most people just stayed in the groups and didn’t socialize much with new people, but whatever works I suppose.  After a while only my co-workers and myself remained, and we played some Mario Kart 64, which was fun.  All in all I would call it a good party, nothing crazy happened, and it was just sort of a relaxing get together.

That’s pretty much been the highlight of my week.  I know, boring.  But on the plus side I will get a bit more time to hang out with people next week because I have two days off instead of one.  You know, if we are looking on the bright side of that, sigh… One day I’ll find a job that doesn’t give me trouble with my hours…

2 Comments

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    September 24, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    A) Where did this “party” come from?

    B) I’m curious to how this “T.A.” revelation came about.

    Doug

    • arichan13 said,

      September 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm

      Yeah, I suppose there wasn’t a whole lot of explaining in the post. Sorry about that. The casserole party thing started last year when a friend and I were at JSO (Japanese Student Organization) and realized that the study abroad students didn’t know what a casserole was. Since they were in America, we decided to make some for them so they could have some more authentic southern food while they were here. This year we know several more Japanese students and told them about casseroles, and they wanted to try them. So I decided to invite a few more people, so that we could let them sample more casseroles.

      I’m not too sure about the T.A. thing. I was checking out at Kroger and the guy at the register asked if I went to Auburn. And I said yes. Then he asked if I was a T.A. I said no and then he asked if I was a graduate student. He seemed a little surprised that I wasn’t… I really don’t know what made me look like a T.A./grad student…


Leave a Reply

