Finally, Finals are Over

So I have finally finished my sophomore year of college!  Yay, I’m halfway done!  Anyway, on less exciting news, I’ve been receiving a lot of feedback via facebook on the possibility of me shutting down my account.  I haven’t yet because there are a couple of people I don’t want to lose (because facebook is sadly, the only contact I have with them).  But to explain some of the reasons why I will link to my brother in law’s post about it (he and my sister both shut down their accounts yesterday).  It’s really not that big of a deal (in my opinion) but I think people have come to rely so heavily on facebook that they can’t see going without it.

Heck, I even kind of fall into that category because there is the sense of not knowing what’s going on with my friends anymore if I do decide to delete it.  But I know that’s just the facebook addiction talking.  I still have ways to see my friends and talk.  I have text, telephone, e-mail, skype, messenger, and *gasp* meeting them in person.  (that wasn’t meant to make fun of anyone by the way).  It just brings up a question to my mind, why do we feel so dependent on cell phones and facebook to be “connected” with people.  I know I’m beginning to sound like an old fart, but I miss the days (which wasn’t actually so long ago) when people could go to a party and not constantly text instead of enjoying the party or the days when people could go through a 2 hour movie without having to check facebook to make sure Sally and John are still together.

And I agree with what my brother in law says in the post linked above, facebook did use to be more fun.  I miss the days when I could just look at status updates and photos and not have to worry about who became a friend of whom.  I miss the days before farmville and mafia wars when my page wasn’t filled with “look who bought a pig!” and whatnot.  I miss the days when it was a place for friends, not a place where if I make one comment that someone doesn’t agree with and get hammered by comments meant to criticize me for my differing views.  I’m sorry, I love you guys to death, but I really don’t care what you are fans of.  I would hide it if I could, but unfortunately I can’t hide fan things, or I guess like now.  I have to hide the people themselves, which honestly, I have done just for that reason.

That along with all the privacy issues and ownership issues, it’s just made me sick and tired of facebook.  I know a lot of people stay connected through facebook and that it is a pretty big site, but I just don’t know how much more I can take.  I’m giving myself a small break from it to see how it goes (I probably won’t get on it for about a week, or if I do it will only be to see if I have messages).  I will again say, that I’m not deleting it yet, but I am considering it because it keeps pissing me off, and social networking is supposed to be fun.  So we will see how this week goes and if I even want to get back on it after this.

By the way, this isn’t meant to criticize anyone that does have a facebook, that is your own personal choice just like it is my own personal choice to get rid of mine.  I’ve had a couple of people take my posts as spiting them for having an account and being okay with the changes, but that’s not the case.

6 Comments

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    May 12, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    Yeah, I already have the “twitch”: But…but…what if something is going on. I just have to remind myself that nothing, absolutely nothing, is going on. If I waited a week and then only looked at those in my notable friends’ list, then yes, something might be going on…but day-to-day messages are almost entirely non-relevant to anything. That was going to be one of my original ideas, by the way, to go on every week or so and check it out…but the rest of the BS quickly persuaded me to go ahead and close it. It feels pretty good, actually, but I know that within a week I will be jonesing. I’ll make it through. And, if I do regret my decision really bad, I have 2 weeks to cancel. heh. That’s how they get you…they give you the grace time to come back.

  2. Doug Bolden said,

    May 12, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    Two quick things: I notice that something on this page is linking back to Facebook (only the same sort of block-FB system showed me that), looks like it was an old picture or something but isn’t working now. If you want to have a picture for your profile, let me know and I’ll host one for you either on my site or my picasaweb. No problem.

    Secondly, let me know if my profile (Wyrmis Simryw) shows back up. There are so many things that send me back to FB when I click on them, I’m annoyed that it will take one of those clicks as me signing back in and reactiving things. I’m sure I would know, but just in case I show back up, I’d like to start the 2 weeks all over again.

  3. May 27, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    If only more than 56 people could read this!

  4. Kip Owens said,

    May 30, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    If only more people would hear about this!

  5. June 1, 2010 at 1:05 am

    Super awesome read. Honestly.

  6. June 1, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    If only more people could hear about this!


Leave a Reply

