Movie Reviews: Priest, Run Lola Run, and Tonari no Totoro

Something I haven’t done in a minute (to use this new fangled slang) is movie reviews.  I haven’t done it in a while, because, well I got tired of it.  But working at the movie theater and taking a film class last semester, I have watched tons of movies.  These three are the most recent (that I have really enjoyed).  They are each in a different language as well, which to me is awesome (nerd).

Priest: This movie just came out, and while I thought the trailer looked decent, I still didn’t have a lot of hope for a vampire movie.  One of my favorite parts was that the vampires were actually something to be feared, and not sexual objects which sparkle in the sunlight.  I also dug the modern clashed with old 1800s western frontier.  It sort of paralleled cowboys and Indians for a time.  I also enjoyed the church element to it.  However, certain messages were said a little too much for my taste.  The story was also kind of predictable, but still very enjoyable to watch.  I would give it about a low 4.

Run Lola Run: This is kind of an older German movie, but it is talked about a lot in German class, so I wanted to give it a watch.  Honestly, I was sort of wondering where most of the movie was going to go, since it is about a total of 20 minutes in this girl’s life.  You can kind of guess after a bit, and it is not a new technique.  But I enjoyed how the director played with it.  There were a couple of scenes which ran a little too long to be 100% effective (mostly the in bed conversations).  But it had some really interesting tid bits and artistic flare in it, which really makes it stand out in my mind.  I would give it a mid 4 and I would highly recommend it for a watch.

Tonari no Totoro: This one is a Miyazaki film, and I’ve wanted to watch it for some time now because apparently, every kid who grew up in the ’90s in Japan has seen this movie.  It was definitely entertaining, and the little girls were adorable, but I also think there are much better Miyazaki films.  I think my brother-in-law is right when he says that sometimes Miyazaki lets the art get in the way of the story sometimes.  The music and the animation is really what makes this movie great, while the story is lacking at times.  Nonetheless, I would give it a mid to high 3 and say that if you like Miyazaki films, or anime in general, you should watch it.

That’s it for the movie reviews for this post.  Next time I review movies, I will probably do several from my German film class, because I enjoyed several of them.

Leave a Reply

