Post Finals and Laziness

So I really haven’t done much after finals except a girls night and be sick.  Okay, that’s partly a lie because I worked a good bit too.  One of the most interesting things I did do, was begin tutoring a Korean girl in English.  It was very difficult, and even though we were speaking English, I couldn’t concentrate after about two hours and we had to call it a day.  She was nice, and her English was fair, so it wasn’t like she was speaking mostly Korean (which I don’t know anything about), but it was still mentally taxing.  I really need the experience though.  I especially need it if I decide to go to Japan to teach English for awhile.  So I will be tutoring again, and I will possibly add other people and start charging when I feel I am capable lol.  And now I know how my Japanese friends feel when I ask them questions about Japanese.  Sometimes you don’t know why your native language says things that way.  The only way you can distinguish between right and wrong sometimes, is based on whether or not is sounds right, which is a frustrating explanation for learners, and that’s the main challenge of tutoring for another language.  You kind of have to research your own language and find out why something is the way it is.

Outside of all of that, I’ve been doing a lot of sleeping.  I think my body wanted to make up for all the lack of sleep during finals so it decided most of this week would be dedicated to sleeping.  It also probably has something to do with the sick part, but whatever.  I’ve had some pretty fun dreams as of late as well.  My favorite being the one last night involving zombie and my brother in law trying to shoot them.  It later turned into an old video game style dream where I was the main character but I kept getting eaten or shot and had to start over.   And it ended up in a desert.  My mind is a strange place.

The good news is that my finals have gone well.  The bad news is that I’m already starting to forget some Japanese due to lack of practice.  I will be doing a study group for part of the summer and plan on studying some in Vienna so I don’t forget any of it.  The goal is to take level 3 of the Japanese Language Proficiency Test in December.  Hopefully I can pass and then start studying for level 2, or go to Japan, whichever is the most viable option heh heh.

Well, that is all for now.  Just wanted to update on all the random goings ons since finals have finished!

1 Comment

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    May 16, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    I notice you said “trying to shoot them”.

    As for a “why things are said that way”, it might help to use sources like the Oxford English Dictionary and an etymology dictionary. That won’t always help with some of the weirder (often designed to polite for politeness sake) grammar/syntax rules, but it can help to understand why one word means this in one case but has a whole other case elsewhere.


Leave a Reply

