My Trip to Japan: Day 3 My Solo Adventures in Kameido

I woke up at around 7 AM on Sunday, and I was really hungry.  I didn’t really want to eat all of Shun’s food, so I decided to go out in search of a convenience store.  Unfortunately I didn’t really know where one was, so that meant I had to go out and look for one.  I was a bit nervous at first because honestly, I have never really been in a big city, much less alone.  It was fine though.  It wasn’t that busy because it was so early.  I walked down about two blocks before deciding that probably wasn’t the way to a convenience store.  So I turned right and decided to walk in a large circle in hopes of finding one.  Just as I was about to turn to go back to Shun’s, I found a 7-11.  Had a decided to go the other way in the beginning, my search would have been much more fruitful.  So I went in and got some onigiri and some milk tea and went to the register.  The lady said something to me in really fast Japanese, which Japanese might have been fine had she said it more slowly.  But all I could do was look at her with a puzzled look, and her countenance quickly changed to that of panic and she said, “Sorry, no English!!”  Then she pointed at the onigiri and said, “Hot?”  It was quite an experience.  I was caught off guard though and didn’t really use my Japanese heh heh.

So I ate my breakfast back at Shun’s place and then watched some Japanese Sunday morning cartoons before falling back asleep (one of which was pokemon).  I’m not sure when exactly I woke back up, but I got a shower and got re-dressed and then took some pictures from Shun’s balcony.  Then I decided to go explore Kameido.  I walked past the train station and all the way down that street, looking at all the different shops and restaurants.  It smelled sort of like a carnival with all the different smells from the food mixing together.  By the time I got back to Shun’s, I was starting to get hungry again, but I didn’t really want to go back to a convenience store for lunch.  So I walked down another road for awhile and found a big department store.  I briefly thought about going to a restaurant, but the thought of ordering in Japanese and not really knowing what I was getting sort of freaked me out, so I decided not to.  So I walked back and found a discount store close to his place and got some cup noodle.

Cup noodle’s in Japan may cost more, but you get a whole lot more bang for your buck.  They have a whole host of vegetables and they are bigger.  It was pretty awesome.  So I went back and ate, then rested for a little while.  It really took a lot out of me.  Later I went back out and went back to that department store/mall that I had found earlier and looked around for awhile.  There was a live band playing too, so I took a break and listened to a couple of songs as well.  As I headed back I went to a convenience store and picked up my dinner for later, another bento.  I did a bit of studying as well as wrote some e-mails and then after I ate dinner, I found Harry Potter 2 on the tv and watched that for awhile in Japanese before ultimately switching back to English.

Sometime in the middle of the movie Shun’s mom called, and it was a bit awkward.  I thought it was him calling me, so I didn’t even look when I answered and his mom was like, “Hello?  Shun there?”  I told her no and that he was at his car club thing and she was like, “Oh, I’m his mom.”  I told her I would tell him she called and we talked in some broken English and Japanese for a couple more minutes before hanging up.  Finally, when Shun did come home, we were both really tired, but we talked for a little while and he also told me all about his race, which he got 2nd in!!  So that was Sunday!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments

  1. abndis said,

    December 19, 2010 at 8:12 am

    we are in the same hotel jajaja

    • arichan13 said,

      December 19, 2010 at 12:17 pm

      I didn’t actually stay in a hotel while I was there. I stayed with my boyfriend.


Leave a Reply

