My Week or so of Projects/Essays/Tests

So I’ve been extremely busy the past week or so, between all of my classes I’ve had something important do.  Still not out of the woods yet because I have a Japanese test on Wednesday, but that’s okay considering what else had to be done.  Last Wednesday I had a German mid-term,  Friday I had a Chinese Lit paper due (moved from Wednesday, thank Buddha heh), and Today was my German Civ. presentation, which almost got moved to Wednesday, but luckily she let me go ahead and get it over with.  Through in a job search on top of that and there is just no end to what needs to be done.

Luckily, everything is falling into place.  My mid term went very well, and I think I did well on my presentation.  My Chinese Lit. paper, well that’s not excellent, but I did have a couple days left over to edit it some, so here’s hoping.  I got my old job back, and while that’s not particularly exciting, the fact that I get paid more is, as well as the fact that I will have hours.  I will continue to work at the movie theater, so I will get those awesome benefits.  I just will have to think about how awesome a month from now will be.  Yay!

In the mean-time, I have been watching a couple of movies, mostly Disney auf Deutsch (in German).  I watched 101 Dalmatians, Mulan, and Cinderella.  Which were good, but Mulan was a bit harder for me to understand.  If I ever become a German teacher, I think I will set one day aside so that we could watch a Disney movie in German.  I know that it is dubbed and such, but so many people like Disney and they most likely wouldn’t get bored or disinterested because they don’t understand everything that is being said.  You can also pick up a good bit from watching it, I feel like.  Oh, and not to mention that Germany does a really good job dubbing things.  The voices usually closely match as well as the fact that English and German are similar enough, that it’s usually a better translation in general.  Just my random thoughts though.  I will say that I believe The Lion King was made for German.  I will leave you a clip, in case you want to watch it.

Seid Bereit (Be Prepared)

2 Comments

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    October 19, 2010 at 3:59 am

    The Zulu dub is also intriguing.

  2. Doug Bolden said,

    October 19, 2010 at 4:00 am

    Keep in mind that Disney takes it’s dubbing very seriously. Might be interesting to find something like Iron Man 2 dubbed in German to see how another company handles it.


Leave a Reply

