Ein Bisschen auf Deutsch

Was soll ich sagen?  Ich will mein Deutsch ausüben, aber ich weiß nicht, was ich über sprechen soll.  Die ganze Wochenende musste ich arbeiten (Ich arbeite im Kino).  Mancher Käufer war ein Idiot.  z.B. Eine Dame fragte, ob wir die Butter haben.  Und ich sagte, Ja, natürlich.  Aber, sie verstand das nicht, und fragte, wo die Maschine der Butter liegt.  Sie war fast ärgerlich, wenn sie das mir fragte.  Ich deutete auf die Maschine und sagte, Ja es liegt da…  Sie sagte, ah, wie sie überrascht war.

For funnsies I’m going to paste the babel fish translation of what I just wrote.  It is hilarity.  Then I will post the actual translation.

What am I to say? I want to exercise my German, but I do not know, what I am to speak over. The whole weekend had I to work (I work in the cinema). Some buyer was an idiot. e.g. a lady asked whether we have the butter. And I said, naturally. But, it understood that, and did not ask, where the machine of the butter lies. It was nearly annoying, if it asked me. I interpreted it on the machine and said, lie there… She said, ah, how she was surprised.

The Real Translation:

What am I to say?  I want to practice my German, but I don’t know, what I should talk about.  I had to work the whole weekend (I work at a movie theater).  Some customers were idiots.  For example, a lady asked whether or not we have butter.  I said, “Yes, of course.”  But she didn’t understand that and asked where the butter machine was.  She was almost angry when she asked me this.  I pointed to the machine and said, “Yeah, it is over there.”  She said, “Oh,” like she was surprised.

Just thought the babel fish translation at the end was funny, and thought I should share.

Leave a comment