Oh yeah, I have watched some movies…

I’ve watched a lot of movies over the summer, and I usually review them but as of late I just haven’t.  So there are several that I have watched, but I think I’ll only hit a select few in the review post.  I’ve watched Knight and Day (low 4), Inception, Karate Kid (low 3), Salt (4), The Last Airbender, Toy Story 3(low 4), Despicable Me, The A Team (3), Shrek 4 (2), Jonah Hex (3), and Dinner for Schmucks.  I think that’s it as far as movies I’ve watched in theaters.  I’m only going to review my thoughts on Inception, The Last Airbender, Despicable Me, and Dinner for Schmucks.  The others have my number rating in parenthesis.

Inception: I’ll definitely have to see this movie a second time in order to take in everything it has to offer.  It’s definitely one that you need to pay attention to in order to understand what is going on.  There are a lot of twists and turns in the story, and it is also a long movie.  That aside I really enjoyed it.  Reminded me a lot of Shutter Island, which I think I still like better.  The only thing I don’t think I really liked about Inception is how rushed the ending felt to me.  And I understand that it was beginning to get a bit on the long side anyway, but I think the ending could have used a little bit of work.  That aside, I will probably watch it again sometime because there is too much in it to catch it all the first time through.  I thoroughly enjoyed it though and give it a high 4.

The Last Airbender: First of all I have to kind of defend Shyamalan (sp?) in that they had a lot of material condensed into one movie.  They took the first season of Avatar and based the movie on that, so of course characters will be merged, scenes edited or left out for time, etc.  But I think they would have been better off working with less, maybe the first half of the first season, because the whole movie was rushed and jumbled and I often felt like they were jumping too quickly from scene to scene.  The writing was not done too well.  Strange words were often used and it didn’t sound natural.  There were also some very non convincing scenes, the prime example is the scene with the imprisoned earth benders and the only thing keeping them from kicking fire bender tail was a lack of motivation.  The acting was terrible, the only semi-convincing character was the prince.  And the names were pronounced wrong, which is extremely odd because it is based on a television series where the names have already been said.  The plus side is that it starts to get somewhat better toward the end.  I would still only give it a 1.

Despicable Me: I had high hopes for this movie, and so did a lot of other people I’ve talked to.  It was a cute movie too, but it didn’t really live up to my expectations.  My main problem with the movie was the plot hole that was hinted at, but never given a resolve or explanation.  I won’t give too much away here for those of you who haven’t seen it, but there is no real explanation to the mother son relationship being resolved at the end. It was entertaining though, with some cute moments as well as funny moments.  I just wish that kid movies were a little more intelligent like they used to be.  I don’t mean to sound harsh, but I feel like a lot of the clever jokes put in there for adults aren’t there anymore, or they have changed.  I don’t know, get off my lawn.  I would say high 3.

Dinner for Schmucks: I have been looking forward to watching this movie for awhile, mostly because Kristen Schaal (aka Mel from Flight of the Conchords) was in the previews and she cracks me up.  But what I didn’t realize was that Jermaine Clement (FOTC) and Chris O’Dowd (The IT Crowd) were also on there.  They were probably my favorite parts of the movie.  It had some funny parts, but for me was one of those hard to watch movies because the situation just gets worse and worse as they try to make it better, if that makes sense.  Probably one of my favorite American comedies that I’ve seen this year (not that I’ve seen a lot though heh).  I would probably watch it again.  Oh, and if you think mice are cute, you should definitely watch it.  I squeed a couple of times.  Over all I think I would give it a high 3.

So that is it for movie reviews today.  Maybe I won’t let myself get so far behind next time, or something.  Heh, I need to start updating more (and I have been the past couple of days).  Just have to get my regular writing every couple of days back on again.

2 Comments

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    August 6, 2010 at 12:31 am

    In Despicable Me’s defense, it is one of the few movies from the past 10 years that set out a goal–safe, non-threatening “villain” movie–and accomplished it. I’ve been so annoyed by the sheer number of films that tries to shovel two or three things on top of each other and doesn’t know how. Though I would have liked to see more references to 70s movies (such as the Godfather “horse head in bed” spoof). That’s the kind of thing you can stick into a children’s movie and be fairly assured that kids will miss most of the references.

    • Doug Bolden said,

      August 6, 2010 at 12:35 am

      Don’t think WordPress let’s you edit, but minus the first “so”, make tries = try, and doesn’t = but don’t. Sheer is optional. “The line should have read I’ve been annoyed by the number of films that try to shovel two or three things on top of each other but don’t know how.”

      While ranting about films, I’m also thinking that it’s time to break out of the 2+ hour trap that we’ve gotten into. Both Shutter Island and Inception, for instance, had some awesome scenes, but would have worked almost the same with about 30 minutes shed. We are about two song and dance numbers from turning into Bollywood.


Leave a Reply

