Curious Thoughts on a Previous Post

So last night was the first really awesome night I have had in awhile (because I’m boring and just work).  It was needed, and this weekend my sister is coming down for a visit, which is also needed, but more on that, plus a movie review of The Last Airbender later (possibly another post).  Today I want to talk about something I have been reflecting on for about a week now.

I wrote a post not too long ago about the positives of being single (especially when you are a young adult.)  You can either read the post, or I’ll just do a quick summary for those of you who don’t want to.  It comes down to society’s (and Hollywood’s) somewhat negative view of being single and how, in my life, being single a good portion of the time helped me better understand my beliefs and where I stand on issues that are important to me.

But now I want to look at what being in a relationship has to bring to the table.  I’m not trying to argue on the opposite side of my previous article necessarily, because this is meant to be in a more general way.  About a month ago I was talking to my sister about said article, and she brought to light some things I didn’t really know at the time.  She spent a lot more of her time in high school and college in relationships than I did.  She has also never lived alone, which I have (I’ll get to this in a moment).  When we were talking she said that sometimes she felt like she missed out on certain things like the freedom to things when you want and how.  She has always had to compromise things with both her roommates and her boyfriends, but that’s what a relationship is all about.  Give and take.  I’m not meaning for this to sound bad, learning how to compromise and make both people happy is a good skill, and admittedly one that I lack at times.

I admit, that I have learned a lot from being single, but now I am learning about what it takes to have a relationship.  I’m starting to learn what it means to balance another person’s thoughts and feelings with your own.  It is a difficult process for me, because I have always been an independent person who knows what she wants.  Sure I have friends and family, but I don’t have to see them all the time anymore so I’ve never always felt the need to learn this skill.  I’m starting to learn what battles I should fight, and what I should let go, but it’s a hard transition.  I don’t regret the decisions that I have made or the way I have lived my life.  They have all taught me valuable lessons.  Right now I think I’m sort of transitioning my life and my relationships with the people around me from one of self discovery to one of compromise and working better with other people.

That being said, I think I will take some time out this week and write a couple of reviews to some places as well as some movies.  We’ll see what I feel like.  I do know that I want to write a review on The Last Airbender, but I’ll go ahead and give you a hint, I didn’t really like it.

Leave a Reply

