Another Dry Spell…

Still not that motivated to write, but I’m going to try again to talk about some stuff.  I’ve been having a pretty stressful past couple of weeks, with working five days a week and all the little problems that have sprung up here and there.  When I’m not working, I’m usually so tired that I just watch tv or sleep, so there really isn’t anything much to talk about in my life.  But I do have a couple of topics that I have been thinking on for awhile.  One of which is the way I think of the word “diet”.  I know it’s been an issue with most of my friends and family when I use the word (especially my parents).  My parents, when thinking about the term usually assume I want to lose weight and am on the verge of an eating disorder.  I can’t tell you how many times my mom has asked if I was eating enough food or if I have enough money for groceries.  But if you’ve ever seen me eat, you know I don’t have a bad relationship with food, in fact, I eat a lot.  I don’t think my parents consider all the definitions of the word diet before assuming what I mean.

Webster online defines it as, “a :food and drink regularly provided or consumed b : habitual nourishment c : the kind and amount of food prescribed for a person or animal for a special reason d : a regimen of eating and drinking sparingly so as to reduce one’s weight <going on a diet>”

I’ve had a couple of friends and such also get concerned over my usage of the word, but most of the time when I use it to talk about what I eat, I usually mean something along the lines of both b and c.  Yes I have gained some weight in college, and I do want to lose that, but more than that, I want to regulate my food (meaning weeding out the unhealthier things) to be and overall healthier person and such.  I exercise for the same reason.  As of right now, I don’t think I can lose the weight I have gained, so I’m not really trying on that, but I would like to maintain the weight I am at.  I know that my personal definition of the word is different than most people’s, because most people think of either a, but usually d when the word is used.  I know that this isn’t exactly and important or exciting post, but I feel like I should throw this out for my friends and readers to see.  That is all.

Leave a Reply

