Writer’s Block Exercise: Take One

As I have said in my last post, I’m going to take measures to get me out of this long standing writer’s block.  I know I turned out a couple of things (poems and posts) but not nearly the number I usually turn out.  I just feel kind of eh about writing so I took my brother-in-law’s idea about heading over to livejournal and writing on their topic.  The topic today: “If you had the opportunity to know everything about the person you love, would you take it? Or would you avoid the possibility of getting hurt?”

My answer to this question is kind of simple, and doesn’t really have much to do with with getting hurt.  First, I think it is really important to know a lot about the person you love.  In fact, I believe it is almost necessary for two people to be in “love” because how can you love a person you don’t know?  However, I would not like to know everything because what’s the fun in that?  In theory I will be spending the majority of my life with said person and it would really be hard to have a conversation if I know everything about them.  I would also want them to actually have the trust and courage to tell things to me, I wouldn’t just want to know.  Plus, having that bit of mystery occasionally is exciting in a relationship.  I’m not saying that not knowing the big stuff isn’t important, but every detail would make things a bit unexciting, or so I would imagine.  So for me it isn’t a question of getting hurt, because I want to know the important things about the person I love, but I wouldn’t want to know everything.

Also, can you imagine how weird of a conversation it would be to talk about how when your partner was going through his or her awkward teen years they kissed their cousin in a strange attempt to outrage relatives leading to their first major crush?  Yeah, that’s right, I went there George Michael heh heh.  Yeah, some things are probably best left in the corner of your life gathering dust, only to be brought to the surface in a drunken game of Never Have I Ever or for blackmail.

That’s just about all I can actually write on the subject because I don’t really have much to say on the matter.  I think I’ll try a prompt tomorrow and see if I have more luck with that.  Leave your thoughts?  Maybe?  Heh heh who am I kidding?

Leave a Reply

