Writing Project

I don’t know why, but I have felt like writing less and less here lately.  When I first transferred my blog to wordpress, I was writing at least a couple of times a week.  But as I got busier and busier I wrote less and less and now, I think I’m in the habit of not writing.  I’m glad I’m not writing as much, mind you, but I do like keeping up with my thoughts via blog.  Heh, this is the closest thing I actually have to a diary or journal, so I want to keep going.  Unfortunately, I’m kind of at a loss on how to do it.  I can’t just sit down and write, I have to feel inspired, otherwise it’s a flaming pile of crap.

My only idea is to maybe start out by writing something short, but more creative.  Maybe a story or something about once a week.  They may not all be good (not that many of mine are anyway), but at least it might get me back into the habit of writing.  What I will post will be the rough draft of my stories, and I would love feedback.  I think that later on I might put the edited versions up, but for right now, I’m just thinking of this as a minor writing exercise to get me back into my creative mood.  So I guess I’ll start doing that sometime this week and see how it goes.

2 Comments

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    May 30, 2010 at 12:15 am

    One possible approach is to a) either respond to something or b) kind of put yourself through “writing block” exercises, like Livejournal uses. In fact, you can even go over to Livejournal.com without signing in and see what they have. The trick is to not merely write words just for the sake of doing so, but starting with that as a point might be a good way to get you going.

    For instance, let’s say you are out walking and see a man chasing after a dog he didn’t put on a leash…just respond to that event in whatever way you feel like starting…and go from there. “Saw a man chasing after a dog he should have kept on a leash, today, made me think about…”

    Sort of the writing version of transcendental meditation…where you focus on a mantra…a seed…and grow.

    Also, maybe take some pictures around town and kind of identify portions of your blog with Auburn localities. Restaurants, places to hang, movies showing in the theater…that way other students and people who live there might get some advice from you about where to try for food the next day…for instance.

    • Doug Bolden said,

      May 30, 2010 at 12:15 am

      That’s brilliant, by the way, the way I start with “one possible approach” and then immediately write two…


Leave a Reply

