Update on My Life

I haven’t really been up to much lately, mostly just relaxing, working, or watching movies.  But my week away from facebook is up and so I’m slowly going back.  Although I still don’t really do anything except check for messages and such, I am going to post status updates again, at least every once in awhile.  I know this is going to sound snobbish of me, and please don’t take it that way, but I have found that I haven’t really missed much being gone from facebook.  Most of you I have other ways of talking to and I’m filled in on important things based on those interactions.  The thing I missed the most from facebook is the photos from close friends.  Facebook is an easy way to share photos, and twitter doesn’t quite do that, which is fine.  Which brings me to my recent usage of twitter.  I know that I used to be against the website because of microblogging, but facebook is essentially the same deal.  No one writes full out blog posts anymore with the exception of a couple of my friends and myself.  However, I think twitter offers a better approach than facebook mostly because I am not overloaded with all the liking and who becomes friends with whom.  Right now I will still use both, but if you have a twitter, look me up.

As far as movies I have recently seen I have watched Robin Hood and The Back-up Plan.  My initial reaction to Robin Hood is, it’s okay, just long.  Maybe not really worth a rewatch.  It’s a bit misleading because I thought it was a traditional Robin Hood story, but it’s more about how he becomes Robin Hood, which isn’t really bad, just not what I was expecting.  It also took a bit too long to introduce the characters and I was a bit confused at first because I didn’t know who the people in the scene were, and it frequently jumped from scene to scene.  The action was good though, and kind of an interesting story so I would say a 3.  As for The Back-up Plan, this is a total chick flick, which I don’t normally watch but I went with some friends to see it.  It was surprisingly better than I thought.  It had some moments I actually thought were funny and it was a pretty good story.  I respect the ending because that’s not where I thought it was going to end up.  But there were some problems with the plot as well.  So a high 3, but those of you who are into chick flicks would probably like it better.

The last thing I’m going to relate to you is I was doing some research on the English language and the American accent from a non native speaker’s stand point last night.  There are some interesting videos on youtube that you can easily find on your own.  But there is a lot to our language that we don’t even think about.  For example, countable and uncountable nouns.  Nouns that can be counted are obviously called countable, but I never really paid attention to this.  If you said a milk (uncountable) it just simply wasn’t good grammar to me.  I would have explained it away to someone asking as, “Well, it just doesn’t sound right.”   I never sat down and said milk was an uncountable noun, therefore you can not use ‘a’ in front of it.  I know, I’m being weird.  But it also got me to thinking on accents.  I know several non native speakers of English and (even though there are plenty of people I know who are American citizens) what does our accent sound like in other languages?  I’m not asking you to actually describe the accent (because that would be impossible) so much as do you think it is a pretty accent to have, or just kind of ugly like I imagine it to be heh heh?  This also leads me to another question, what is your favorite and least favorite accents when spoken to in English (not English accents necessarily, but other language’s accents when speaking English.)

1 Comment

  1. Doug Bolden said,

    May 19, 2010 at 7:50 am

    It’s neat having you and Sarah (and a couple of other friends) on Twitter, now. Something about the interface is nice and clean. I still think the 140 character limit is irksome (especially since I regularly post about 150 characters, apparently) but I kind of get why the did (that way the username and message can be delivered as a single 160 character text message if you subscribe that way). It’s not perfect, but somehow I think it does what other social sites do, without all the BS. And you can do things like twitpics and such if you want to share pictures. Neil Gaiman does that. I don’t bother with it, though. I just post to something like picasaweb and link.

    And yeah, a lot of people (including me) first hear of Twitter and say “fuck that noise” because of the “microblogging” aspect. Then, after using it, and realizing it is kind of to text messages what blogs are to e-mail; it grows on you. It’s not really about tiny little content-less blogs, but more about more immediate, hard to post elsewhere things. Links, shout-outs, suggestions, questions. It’s hard to explain to someone who has only heard it described as microblogging, and I think a lot of hate comes from that, because they imagine it being the worst of thing on the Internet…while, really, it’s a completely different sort of thing than what one would expect.

    Some stop after a couple of weeks, liking it ok but its not for them. Some run a little too wild with it. I’m somewhere in the middle. One thing I have learned is that authors use it a whole lot more than Facebook. Not sure why, just the way it goes. Between the bands on Myspace, the businesses on Facebook, and the authors on Twitter…my heart leans to the latter.

    I think the one real advantage it has is that it is actually feedable. Facebook requires you to log in and get the messages it wants you to see in the format it wants you to see them in. You have to pretty much hide entire users, or hide entire apps, to have any control. You can set up friend lists, but that requires three or four clicks to work. Twitter allows you make lists and bookmark them directly, and doesn’t really have “apps”. What’s more, the feed is actually a feed in the technical sense, so you can (or someone else can) develop programs that do things like filters out certain types of posts, rank them based on users, assign some posts certain colors, have it play a sound when certain users post, and etc.

    I’m not sure what the perfect system would be for me. Something between Twitter and a Blog with E-mail tossed in? I’ve been thinking about it lately. If I ever come up with anything, I’ll let you know.


Leave a Reply

