Lent

So I’ve only done Lent once before back when I was 16ish.  It was a success and I didn’t really have plans to ever do it again (because I’m not Catholic and it is a lot of work to give something wonderful up).  But well, I was talking with a friend and we got on the subject and we decided to both give up junk food (and soft drinks for me, fast food for her).  I’m going to plan out all the off limits and okay foods.  This is really more for my benefit than anyone else’s, but if you want to play along, feel free.

Of course all soft drinks (caffine free or otherwise) are off limits 100%.  But like last time, this will exclude unsweentened tea (maybe occasionally a mix of sweet and unsweet, but no sweet tea by itself), coffee, and chocolate milk.  The reason chocolate milk is excluded is because it will get me through rough times and it is milk so on a technicallity it’s okay.  I don’t plan on drinking it often though.  Hi-C and other fruit punch drinks that are loaded with sugar are also off limits, as are icee’s.

The obvious elimination of food stuffs is chocolate, potato chips, pizza, and popcorn.  Things that aren’t limited include pretzels, crackers (excluding Cheezits and the like), and trail mix.  Smoothies are also okay (and is what got me through the last time I did this).  French fries are still a bit up in the air, but I think I won’t eliminate them 100%.  And I say that because I will allow sweet potato fries.  I think I’m going to stay away from normal french fries and go for roasted potatoes or something of that nature when I want a snack.  Foods that are generally bad for me anyway but are technically meals (with the exception of pizza) are fine, but I still want to try and limit that intake, even though it will not be a part of my Lent.

So it’s going to be a long 44 days without my junk food, but I need to break my bad habits.  I think next time I go to the store I’m going to invest in some frozen fruit, a blender, and chick peas.  Yeah, that sounds good heh heh.

Leave a Reply

