V-Day (My take, again)

I know I haven’t been making regular posts as of late, but honestly, I haven’t had much time to do something worth writing or time to collect my thoughts to make a meaningful post.  Here’s hoping soon I can?  Maybe?  heh heh  So tomorrow (technically today) is Valentines/Single Awareness day.  I don’t really have too much to say concerning this holiday, but I seem to be hearing a fair amount of complaints on the day, so I decided to post my random thoughts.

I sort of miss the days back in elementary school when we would go to class and everyone would give everyone else a Valentine.  The free candy was awesome, and the dorky cards were cute.  I remember always saving my favorites for my best friends (because this was during a time when boys still had cooties).  I also kind of miss the presents from my parents (yes they gave me Valentine’s presents), because again, free candy, and it was really yummy!

But surprise surprise (and this is heavy on the sarcasm Torie) I was a very awkward tween/teen, so I didn’t get any Valentines presents from boys until the 9th grade when I had my first boyfriend.  It was sweet, a rose and a stuffed animal.  Up until this year he has been my only boyfriend on V-day, but honestly, I don’t really care.  As you can see from most of my experiences with Valentines Day and the fond memories I hold from it, it’s all about candy for me.  Yes, I know it is supposed to be a day of love, but honestly, if you love someone, I think everyday should be about love, not just one.  You can celebrate how much you love each other on May 23 just as easily as February 14.  And, because I know some of my guy friends read this, it will be a surprise (bonus points) on any other day.

No, it’s not Valentines Day that I really look forward to, it is really the day after.  This was especially true for me all those years I spent it single.  The trick is to wait for the candy to go on sale, heh heh.  I’m such a fat kid on the inside.  Anyway, my plans for tomorrow don’t differ much from my plans Friday and Saturday.  I’m going to get up, complete studying and homework, go to work at 5.  Come home and fall in bed and hope that I can get up in the morning for my test at 8 o’clock… I should have asked to work a morning shift…

3 Comments

  1. Torie via facebook said,

    February 14, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    hahahaha ok A. i’m glad it’s about the candy for you too, everyone always gives me crazy looks when i say that lol B. yes yes i caught the sarcasm(that time lol) C. AHH the day AFTER is the best day ever!! i loves IT!! :D yummy candy for cheap :P D. this is the 1st Vday that’s every been even the slightest sad for me and i never had valentine of my own becase guess who else was a nerdy kid? :P

  2. Holly said,

    February 15, 2010 at 3:44 am

    I <3 you Alicia. You like Valentine's day about as much as me. And I swear, (since chocolate isn't my thing… thanks lactose intolerance) Valentine's day has the best sugar candies. I'm hoping if I go to Wally World tomorrow after lab… dang it being so late… that I can get some yummy sugar sweets. I think we should revive the cute lil Valentine cards next year, cause they are amazing!!

    • arichan13 said,

      February 15, 2010 at 5:56 am

      I was totally going to get some of those this year, but I couldn’t find ones like we used to have (you know, not terrifying).


Leave a Reply

