Local Restaurants in Auburn

So I know I made a facebook status at some point saying I want to make a post on my thoughts on healthcare reform.  However, I have not gotten around to collecting my thoughts, so I haven’t.  I still plan on writing something on it at some point, just not yet.  As for now, I want to write a post on a wonderful local restaurant in Auburn called the Seafood and Creole Shack (or something similar to that).  I’ve wanted to try it ever since I’ve first seen it, because it is always busy.  So tonight I did.

They of course serve Cajun food (and bread pudding even though tonight they were out of it).  Let me just say though, this place is tiny.  There were about 8 tables total in there and they were close together, which is my only big complaint.  I also wish they had a bit larger of a selection, but that’s okay.  The food and service were both amazing.  I decided to get an appetizer of fried pickles, Jessica’s recommendation.  I ordered the seafood jambalaya for dinner and it came with fried green tomatoes and french bread.  Everything was amazing.  So that was one of the many local restaurants I have sought out to try.  I highly recommend this one though.  With the appetizer we paid about $12 so I think it’s a good price considering the quality.

I’ve also recently tried Ming Garden on Opelika Road (also in Auburn).  I went to the lunch buffet and they were pretty good, but I wasn’t overly impressed.  I did really like their fried dumplings though and wished they had steamed ones as well.  The service was pretty good and the atmosphere was neat (they played real Chinese music).  The price was also very good and I think I paid something like $6.50-$7.  So the price was very good.  I wouldn’t mind eating there again, but I’m still in search for a really good local Chinese place.

The last one is sort of an older favorite of mine, Chappy’s Deli.  It is a sandwich shop on Glenn.  I love the food.  I was a bit disappointed last night when they took my favorite sandwich off the menu, but I ordered something else and it was wonderful.  They also have yogurt with granola and fruit and all sorts of wonderful things.  The service is also good and friendly.  The only thing I don’t like about it is that there are mirrors everywhere and you can see like a million of yourself if you find the right spot.  Most people I have talked about Chappy’s with complain that it is too expensive, but I really don’t see where they get this.  My meal last night was around $8 which is around or maybe even cheaper than Subway.  Not to mention the fact that I got fresh fruit which added around $1.25 to my total.  So the price is actually really good.

Anyway, that’s about all I have to say on this.  I want to eat at some more exotic restaurants like Indian or German.  Let me know if you have any suggestions leave them in a comment or e-mail me.

3 Comments

  1. Shunsuke said,

    January 31, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    You know China palace(It is Chinese restaurant that is near library ) was closed. But before I leave, I saw new Chinese restaurant was constructing at there. But I don’t know it is already complete. Anyway if you can,please try!!

    • arichan13 said,

      February 2, 2010 at 5:45 am

      Yeah, that one is on the list of ones I want to try ww. Thank you Shunsuke-kun!!!

  2. Sarah said,

    February 4, 2010 at 2:51 am

    About Chappy’s Deli taking your favorite sandwich off the menu…

    Some places (especially if you frequent there) will still make your favorite sandwich if you ask for it (provided it doesn’t have discontinued ingredients). Next time, try asking if they would mind making it even though it is not on the menu and see what they say.


Leave a Reply

