Another 3 Movie Reviews

Okay, so I have been watching a crap ton of movies here lately (due partially because as of right now I have a good amount of free time and partially because I work at a movie theater).  2 of the 3 I’m reviewing tonight as in theaters, although one won’t be there much longer.  In case you’re wondering, the three are Julie and Julia, The Lovely Bones, and The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus.  No, I still have not seen Avatar, but I may give in soon because I have so many people telling me it’s wonderful.  So without further ado…

Julie and Julia: Okay, so the main reason I watched this movie was because I was at a redbox just looking at what they had and a lady comes up behind me and waits in line.  Well, I was in the middle of looking and didn’t want to be a prat and just have her wait for nothing and I didn’t want to lose my spot either.  So I finished looking and discovered that there wasn’t anything I really wanted to watch in the Redbox.  I had heard that this was a cute movie so I picked it.  It was kind of cute I guess.  There wasn’t much of a story to it, and there wasn’t much resolved by the ending.  So I wouldn’t call it a bad movie.  I liked the parts that focused on Julia Childes, but the parts focusing on Julie Powell, well, there just wasn’t a whole lot going on in those.  I don’t know, there wasn’t much really to say about this one.  So I’m going to give it a high 2.

The Lovely Bones: There has been a lot of hype over this movie, and as my brother-in-law said, I’m sort of anti-hype.  But I went with one of my friends to watch a movie yesterday and she wanted to watch The Lovely Bones.  So I thought I would give it a shot anyway.  The story wasn’t a bad one, if anything it mostly focused on how a family deals with the death of a child.  Sure there was the creepy murderer and the not so much of a twist plot twist at the end, but to me I felt the focus was more on how the people around her (the girl who died) dealt with things and how she herself deals with her own death.  I don’t want to give too much away here, but I feel like the trailer sort of told the whole movie.  The effects were pretty good, as was the acting.  And most people I know that have watched it have cried through the whole movie.  The only thing that gets me was the ending.  I hated the ending.  I didn’t feel like there was a total resolution and I guess it also went a little too teen romance movie-y for my taste.  So I give it a 3.

The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus: most of you probably only know about this movie because it was Heath Ledger’s last project.  It didn’t get much publicity and originally had a limited release.  But it finally got to Auburn, and honestly, I wouldn’t have seen it if a friend hadn’t wanted to go.  All in all I was really glad I did.  I was taken by the story.  I think it sort of takes a new spin on the power of imagination, even though a lot of movies have been made about it recently.  The acting was good as well, and they handled Ledger’s death quite well working the other actors into the plot instead of just changing actors and pretending no one would notice.  This film was not a digital film, but rather on a reel.  To be honest, I’m very impressed with that and it only added to the movie.  There was special effects and they were handled quite well.  Inside the imaginarium was beautiful, but a few times looked a bit cg.  There is only one complaint I have about this movie, and that is that the ending felt a bit rushed.  Don’t get me wrong, I thought it was a good ending, but it a little out of pace with the rest of the movie (or at least I felt it was) like they were trying to end it at 2 hours even if it could have gone a bit longer.  All in all I am taken by this movie and I plan on buying it when it is released.  So a 5 out of 5 from me.

Leave a Reply

