Okay, So I Will Make a Movie Review Post…

I know that I made a status update on facebook saying that I would not make a movie review for the past couple of movies I’ve watched.  However, the other night I watched Youth in Revolt and I kind of want to do a review while it is still fresh on my mind, so I’m doing the past four movies I’ve recently seen (Paranormal Activity, Imprint, Old School, and Youth in Revolt.)

I guess I’ll start with a review of PA.  I actually went into this movie thinking it was going to be like most American horror movies (meaning it would drag things out) and well, it kind of did.  I think it would have made a better short film rather than full length.  It started out slow, which is fine, but it kept a slow pace up until about the end.  Scenes were thrown in there which were kind of annoying, and the lead male character just needed to be thrown out the window.  I also agree with my brother in law when he says that the lead female deserved a bigger part in the movie other than pleading with the male character who has some control issues.  Sure it is paralleling an abusive relationship, but honestly, I think it would have been fine without that, or at least a bit more subtle.  I also would have liked for the plot to be moved along by more than bad decisions, but oh well.  Don’t get me wrong, I know I’m bashing it pretty hard, but it’s one of those that’s fun to make fun of (mostly because of the Ouija board), but I actually kind of like it.  It had some good scare scenes and when the lights were out, there were creepy moments.  I also think they handled the demon part (sound effects and such as well) very well.  I also think it’s neat just because there are a total of three characters (and the third only briefly shows up.)  But there are still other things that bother me (which I won’t get into since this is supposed to be short.)  So overall, I guess somewhere in the mid to low 3 from me.

The next movie I watched was Takashii Miike’s Imprint which was included in the Masters of Horror series on showtime.  I’m a pretty big fan of Takashii Miike’s horror, sometimes.  I really enjoy Audition and Chakushin Ari (One Missed Call).  I also enjoyed this movie.  It had a pretty good plot twist at the end, which is something I dig, but the logic doesn’t quite make sense to me.  Miike kind of does that to a lot of his films though, so it wasn’t unexpected.  It wasn’t a very high budget movie which is kind of apparent, but in some ways, I think that makes movies better.  The special effects were not used that often, but when they were, they were not very realistic looking.  The main thing that bothered me was the English.  I’m not sure if it was written in Japanese and then dubbed for America, or if the actors really spoke English, but in some places the acting wasn’t quite good because of the English trouble.  All in all, I’d say this on is a low 4, but mostly because the acting trouble the English caused.

The next movie is an American comedy called Old School.  I’m not linking a trailer because it’s pretty much every comedy ever in America.  There are three guys and it’s basically the story of how it’s lame to be married and a responsible adult.  There is a frat house involved and so many scenes mirroring Fight Club.  It pretty much followed the rules of how these movies go down to a T.  Not to mention Will Ferrel is in it, and that just takes away.  There was pretty much no originality to it and way too much of a naked Ferrel.  I can’t really think of any reasons I would recommend this movie, so a 1.

Youth in Revolt was the last movie I have seen as of late.  I was pretty excited to see it, mostly because Micheal Cera is involved.  I was really hoping he could break out of his type cast at least a little bit with this movie.  Ever since Arrested Developement he has played the awkward teenager who wants to get the girl, and ultimately does.  Most people I have talked to about this movie say it is only worth watching for its one line jokes, but I disagree.  Yes, it has some good one liners in it and yes it is worth watching it for those jokes, but I also have some hope for Micheal Cera’s acting career mostly because of the character Francois (sp).  Looking past the fact that most of Cera’s time was spent in the Nick character, Francois did give him a chance to step outside of the box.  While watching the movie I could actually see Cera playing a more serious role, and doing well in it.  So back to the movie aspect.  It didn’t do much creativity, which kind of sucks.  There were also some sub stories that weren’t quite resolved.  And I felt like the ending was a little bit rushed as well.  Of course there was some good music involved and some good jokes as well, but aside from that there wasn’t too much to gain from this movie.  I would probably give it a solid 3, but I would like to note I would watch it again just because of Francois.

4 Comments

  1. Doug said,

    January 14, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    One explanation, and my favorite, for Imprint is that

    SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS SPOILERS

    the even that happens at the “climax” is the real story…and the rest are basically impressions that explain why it happened (little sisters haunting you, the need for an abortion, incest, etc). Essentially, a complex dream sequence in which you have to take the little dream vignettes and separate them out. The last scene, when the guy in the cell and talking to himself, is where he has been the whole time. You get the prossies in the cell because of that. The one haunted by the little sister is the murderer. See what I am saying?

    END SPOILERS END SPOILERS END SPOILERS

    With that being said, it is based on a book.

  2. Indie Genius said,

    January 15, 2010 at 5:20 pm

    Thankfully I saw Paranormal Activity before the hype set in, and I had no idea what to expect. With most American horror films, my expectations have sadly become lower and lower, so this one turned out to be a nice surprise.

    With Youth In Revolt, the Weinstein Company are in such a bad financial mess, they won’t be able to give it the attention it deserves.

    Nice list!

  3. Ribs said,

    January 17, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    Youth in Revolt is good if you like Michael Cera. I rented Paranormal Activity but my wife wouldnt watch it so I never got around to it. I am very curious. http://ribsramblings.wordpress.com/2010/01/17/ribs-reviews-youth-in-revolt/


Leave a Reply

