Sister Post to What Scares Me

So I was talking to my brother-in-law and a conversation came up where he suggested I write a sister post to his about what scares him.  admittedly, his is a the better post because, let’s face it, I have a number of irrational fears which includes but is not limited to Manta/sting rays.  And I’m not scared by the barbs either, because I am equally terrified by the debarbed ones…  I don’t know.

But I sort of agree with him on the statment that I’m not always scared by horror movies.  Men with masks and chain saws don’t freak me out.  I guess I am more scared of things that can’t be explained.  Things like ghosts and such can also creep me out, but for the most part, I’m not actually scared.  This is part of the reason I like House of Leaves so much.  It’s basically a horror novel, and let’s face it, the fact that the house is bigger on the inside than on the outside and is a host to a extremely large maze built around your own fears is kind of a terrifying thought to me.

It can’t be explained away by something like, oh, he killed her so now she is coming back to get her revenge.  When I know why something happens, I can find a solution, or I can prevent it altogether.  That’s not terrifying to me.  And sure, you can always move away from above monster house, but every day there will be that same nagging fear of, could this house be the same?  Could every house be the same?  What made that last house so different from this one?  Is it even different from this one?

I do this in real life as well, not just books and movies.  If you know me, you may or may not have noticed I get nervous when I don’t know how to do something.  Of course this is to a much less degree than what I was talking about above.  I’m obviously not terrified of this, otherwise I wouldn’t be able to function.  But it does make me nervous.

I guess another thing that sort of scares me is the idea of a black hole.  I’m not so much scared of the whole dying thing (because as Socrates said, either our soul goes to another place for eternity or we know no existence).  I’m more scared of the theory of time stopping forever.  To forever be that stretched out noodle they predict we would become.  Because for some reason I imagine myself being conscious the whole time.  The fact that a second is no longer fleeting, but permanent, I don’t know, it freaks me out.  I could even stretch this a bit and say I’m a bit scared by the idea of immortality.  I guess it is similar to what my brother-in-law said in his post, even though he focuses on a different aspect of this.

So besides my many irrational fears (which I won’t name here heh heh) those are the bigger ideas that get to me.  Feel free to discuss.

1 Comment

  1. Sarah said,

    January 10, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    I understand the black hole thing, but just to point out one of the weirdest things about the theory…

    Due to general relativity theory if you were to fall into a black hole, time would pass normally for you and you would be ripped apart on the atomic level in a standard course of time (to you at least). It is only the people that observe you approaching the event horizon that would see time stop for you. They would see you slow down as you get closer to the horizon and eventually stop a long stretched out noodle for eternity (just b/c time at the horizon is moving so slowly compared to outside it). But since you only have the decelerating time as a reference, then you would only observe that time was passing ordinarily. At least, that’s the theory.


Leave a Reply

