Bah Humbug

I’m going to be perfectly honest, I’m not a big fan of Christmas.  I haven’t been for the last three or so years.  Every year, my expectations dive just a bit lower.  Here soon, I’m just going to be that crazy lady down the street with no joy in her life and yelling at kids to get off of her lawn.  But as many of the people I know who are absolutely in love with Christmas, I may need to explain my whole reasoning.  And I would just like to note here, I don’t hate Christmas, I just get disappointed in the concept.

I feel like Christmas spirit is gone: this pretty much speaks for itself and is one of the main reasons I have heard for not being a Christmas fan.    But for the sake of this post, I will elaborate a bit.  I’ve worked in retail for about 5 months, and I did work Black Friday, but I got out soon after.  But even so, I still have seen the jerk things people have done to get what they want.  And I’ve seen how important the holiday season is to sales.  Christmas is always being pushed by retailers as a holiday in which you have to buy every person you care about at least a little something or you don’t love them.  And not to mention all of the fights and even the fact that a Wal Mart employee got killed last Black Friday (2008) by a stampeed of people.  That’s not holiday cheer to me.

Christmas is too big: What is really so special about Christmas that people have to make such a big fuss over it?  You get presents on your birthday and you can eat and spend time with your family at Thanksgiving.  To me, Christmas is just another holiday, except it has gone out of control.  Stores began playing Christmas music and setting up Christmas decorations the day after Halloween.  They don’t even wait until after Thanksgiving anymore.  And aside from the economic problems of the past couple of years, Christmas has been about more presents.  See above.  Honestly, I would love nothing more than to have a small get together with the people I care about and maybe a couple of presents each.  Nothing big or special, nothing expensive, just something sentimental.

Christmas music: There are only a select few songs I like that are Christmas songs.  What few other songs I did enjoy were taken care of by that one month or so I had to listen to holiday music in JCPenney.  I never want to hear Jingle Bell Rock ever again.  Ever.  I really hate how famous musicians try and add to Christmas songs.  I’m sure if I hear the original song done way back when, I would probably like it better.  But no, there are all these funky and jazzed up Christmas songs that don’t actually change except that they are more annoying.

My very own personal reasons: These aren’t really anything big, but I have my own personal reasons (meaning things that have happened to me).  Before you go getting all concerned that a mall Santa went and punched me in the face when I was 4, they aren’t things like that.  They are things like the fact I have to work Christmas Eve at the movie theater because people apparently come watch movies on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  This means I have to miss out on my family get together we have every year.  This also means I can’t make the four hour drive home that night.  I think my parents are going to come and visit, but there are more people that I want to see back home besides them.  My parents also have this really annoying thing they do where they still expect me to believe in Santa Claus.  I’m 19 and every year they still say, if you don’t believe in Santa, he won’t come visit you…  Seriously, I think they think my sister and I are still 4.  Sigh…  The last personal reason, and this mostly applies to this year, is that Shun left a week ago, which makes it hard for me to get into the Christmas spirit.  I know that sounds emo and junk, but I’m not meaning it that way.  It’s just another reason I don’t really care about Christmas right now.

Anyway, Bah Humbug and Happy Holidays to those who aren’t as scrooge like as me heh heh.

1 Comment

  1. Doug said,

    December 23, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Apparently way too much stuff for me to get out there in a single comment. I made a post in response to this, essentially, called ‘So, about the whole “Me and Christmas don’t get along” thing’ in which I get pretty ranty. To sum it up though, just let me sit in the quiet and do my own thing…and maybe I wouldn’t get so irritated this time of year: http://url.wyrmis.com/3o


Leave a Reply

